blog shmadrid castellano   blog shmadrid
Districts of Madrid

The Districts of Madrid

Written by Miguel

Madrid is divided into 21 districts, each one containing several neighbourhoods (or “barrios”, in Spanish). To help you start to understand the city’s geography and make it easier for you to get around in the capital of Spain, ShMadrid has listed them all below, together with some useful information.

Related article: Madrid’s Salamanca District

Complete list of Madrid Districts

Photo via Pixabay

Photo via Pixabay

Centro This is the central district of Madrid, containing the neighbourhoods of Palacio, Embajadores, Cortes, Universidade (home to the popular Malasaña barrio) and Justicia (which includes Chueca, a square that is famous for its vibrant gay nightlife).

Arganzuela – Contains the neighbourhoods of Imperial, Acacias, La Chopera, Legazpi, Delicias, Palos de Moguer and, most notably, Atocha, where the city’s main railway station is located.

Retiro – Located southeast of the city centre, it comprises the neighbourhoods of Pacifico, Adelfas, Estrella, Ibiza, Jerónimos and Ninõ Jesús.

Salamanca – Not to be confused with the city of the same name, this northeastern district contains 7 barrios – Recoletos, Goya, Parque de las Avenidas, Fuente del Berro, Guindalera, Lista and Castellana.

Photo by juanpg via Visualhunt

Photo by juanpg via Visualhunt

Chamartin This important district is home to Real Madrid’sSantiago Bernabéu stadium, the Chamartin railway station (which is the second largest in Spain) and the Cuatro Torres Business Area, where the four tallest skyscrapers in the country are located. It includes the neighbourhoods of Castilla, Ciudad Jardin, El Viso, Hispanoamérica, Nueva España and Prosperidad.

Tetuàn – The district of Tetuán contains the neighbourhoods of Bellas Vistas, Cuatro Caminos, Castillejos, Almenara, Valdeacederas and Berruguete.

Chamberi – The barrios of Gaztambide, Arapiles, Trafalgar, Almagro, Vallehermoso and Rios Rosas are located here.

Fuecarral-El Pardo – This is a very environmentally important district – the northern area of its El Pardo neighbourhood has been preserved as a royal hunting estate, while Monte de El Pardo has been classified as a Special Protection Area due to its birdlife. Its other 8 barrios are Fuentelarreina, Peñagrande, Barrio del Pilar, La Paz, Valverde, Mirasierra and El Goloso.

Moncloa-Aravaca – Home to the Palace of Moncloa, which is the residence of Spain’s Prime Minister. Its wards are Casa de Campo, Argüelles, Ciudad Universitaria, Valdezarza, Valdemarín, El Plantío and Aravaca.

Latina – Contains the barrios of Los Cármenes, Puerta del Ángel, Lucero, Aluche, Las Águilas, Campamento and Cuatro Vientos.

Related article: Top 5 shopping districts in Madrid

Photo via Visualhunt

Photo via Visualhunt

Carabanchel – This suburban area is comprised of 7 neighbourhoods: Abrantes, Buenavista, Comillas, Opañel, Puerta Bonita, San Isidro and Vista Alegre.

Usera – It’s where you’ll find the barrios of Orcasitas, Orcasur, San Fermín, Almendrales, Moscardó, Zofío and Pradolongo.

Puente de Vallecas – Forms the Vallecas geographical area with the district of Villa de Vallecas. Contains Entrevías, Numancia, Palomeras Bajas, Palomeras Sureste, Portazgo and San Diego.

Villa de Vallecas – Mentioned above as part of the Vallecas area, it includes Casco Histórico de Vallecas and Santa Eugenia.

Moratalaz – Once the home of legendary musician Alejandro Sanz, this district is divided into the neighbourhoods of Pavones, Horcajo, Marroquina, Media Legua, Fontarrón and Vinateros.

Ciudad Lineal – Ventas, Pueblo Nuevo, Quintana, La Concepción, San Pascual, San Juan Bautista, Colina, Atalaya and Pinar de Chamartín (Costillares) are the 9 wards that make up this district.

Hortaleza – One of Madrid’s most youthful districts, Hortaleza is also home to a large community of French immigrants. It’s divided into 6 wards: Palomas, Valdefuentes, Canillas, Pinar del Rey, Apóstol Santiago and Piovera.

Photo by anhgemus via Visualhunt

Photo by anhgemus via Visualhunt

Villaverde – A traditionally working class area, it is home to a lot of retirees and immigrants, due to cheaper housing prices when compared to other districts. It contains the barrios of Butarque, Los Ángeles, Los Rosales, San Cristóbal de los Ángeles and Villaverde Alto (also known as San Andrés – but we do not advise you to go steal cars there).

Vicálvaro – A former village that contains the Casco Histório de Vicálvaro and Ambroz neighbourhoods.

San Blas – Simancas, Hellín, Amposta, Arcos, Rosas, Rejas, Canillejas and Salvador are the 8 wards that compose this district.

Barajas – This is where the Adolfo Suárez Madrid-Barajas Airport is located. It’s divided into the neighbourhoods of Aeropuerto, Alameda de Osuna, Casco Histórico de Barajas, Corralejos and Timón (but no Pumbaa, sadly).

What is your favourite district in Madrid and why?

About the author


Miguel is a freelance writer and copywriter who believes that words can really take you places - so hop on his words and dare to discover the wonders of Madrid with him.

Leave a Comment